There are a set of default permission limits that apply to all items shared by a channel. This determines the first "limit" on who can access an item of your channel: a post, a wiki, a photo, etc.
This permision determines who can view your channel "stream": your non-private posts that appear on the channel page when you're logged in.
This permission determines whose posts you will view. It's like follwing someone on Mastodon.
This permission determines who can view your default channel's profile (you can have more than one profile, but there is only one default profile). This refers to the "about" tab.
This permission determines who can view the list of your contacts. These are the connections displayed in the "connections" section .
This permission determines who can view your public files stored in your cloud and your photo albums. Individual photographs may still be posted to a more private audience.
This determines who can post pictures in your albums or upload files to your public file storage, or 'cloud'. This is very useful for forum-like channels where connections may not be connected to each other.
This permission determines who can view your webpages.
This permission determines who can view your wiki.
This determines who can edit your webpages. This is useful for sites with multiple editors.
This determines who can edit your WiFi. This is useful for wikis with multiple editors.
This permission determines who can write to your wall when clicking through to your channel.
This permission determines who can comment on or like posts you create. Normally, you would want this to match your "can view my public stream and posts" permission
This determines who can send you private messages (zotmail).
This determines who can like/dislike items on your profile.
Using @- mentions will reproduce a copy of your post on the profile specified, as though you posted on the channel wall. This determines if people can post to your channel in this way.
This determines who can join the public chat rooms created by your channel.
This determines who can share your post onto other channels.
This determines who can have full control of your channel. This should normally be set to "nobody except myself".
Note: Plugins/addons may provide special permission settings, so you may be offered additional permission settings beyond what is described here.
If you have set any of these permissions to "only those I specifically allow", you may specify individual permissions on the connnection edit screen.
Only you will be allowed access.
By default, people you are not connected to, and all new contacts will have this permission denied. You will be able to make exceptions for individual channels on the connection edit screen.
Only channels you have accepted/approved as connections will have this permission approved. This is the way most legacy platforms handle permissions.
Any channel that creates a connection with you, approved or not, will have this permission approved.
Anybody with a channel on the same hub/website as you will have permission approved. Anybody who is registered at a different hub will have this permission denied.
Anybody in the Hubzilla network will have this permission approved. Even complete strangers. However, anybody not logged in/authenticated will have this permission denied.
This is similar to "anybody in this network" except that it can include anybody who can authenticate by any means - and therefore may include visitors from other networks.
Completely public. This permission will be approved for anybody at all.
Note: Some scopes may not be available for some permissions.
The limit applies to any published thing you create which you didn't set specific permission to (see Access Control List below). For example if you publish a photo and didn't select a specific audience with permission to view it, we apply the limit you set. If all your photos are visible to everybody on the internet and you reduce the limit only to friends, all of your photos will now be visible only to friends.
There are two places: in the Channel settings or in the Connections settings. See further for more information.