Channel roles permissions table

PERMISSIONS ROLES
  SOCIAL FORUM FEED
# Individual Permission Federation Mostly Public Restricted Private Mostly Public Restricted Private Mostly Public Restricted
1 Can view my channel stream and posts Anyone* Anyone* My 'Friends' privacy group* My 'Friends' privacy group* Anyone* My 'Friends' privacy group* My 'Friends' privacy group* Anyone* My 'Friends' privacy group*
2 Can send me their channel stream and posts My connections My connections My connections My 'Friends' privacy group Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given + Posts only via wall (!mention is disabled) My connections My connections
3 Can view my "public" channel profile Anyone* Anyone* Anyone* Anyone* Anyone* Anyone* Anyone Anyone* Anyone*
4 Can view my connections Anyone* Anyone* Anyone* My 'Friends' privacy group Anyone* Anyone* My connections Anyone* Anyone*
5 Can view my file storage and photos Anyone* Anyone* My 'Friends' privacy group* My 'Friends' privacy group Anyone* My 'Friends' privacy group* My 'Friends' privacy group Anyone* My 'Friends' privacy group
6 Can upload/modify my file storage and photos Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given
7 Can view my channel webpages Anyone* Anyone* My 'Friends' privacy group My 'Friends' privacy group Anyone* My 'Friends' privacy group* My 'Friends' privacy group Anyone* My 'Friends' privacy group
8 Can view my wiki pages Anyone* Anyone* My 'Friends' privacy group My 'Friends' privacy group Anyone* My 'Friends' privacy group* My 'Friends' privacy group Anyone* My 'Friends' privacy group
9 Can create/edit my channel webpages Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given
10 Can write to my wiki pages Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given
11 Can post on my channel (wall) page My connections My connections My connections, but they won't see it, except if in Privacy group My connections, but they won't see it, except if in Privacy group My connections My connections, but they won't see it, except if in Privacy group My connections, but they won't see it, except if in Privacy group. They can't override that. My connections My connections, but they won't see it, except if in Privacy group
12 Can comment on or like my posts Anyone connected* My connections My 'Friends' privacy group My 'Friends' privacy group My connections My 'Friends' privacy group My 'Friends' privacy group My connections My 'Friends' privacy group
13 Can send me private mail messages Anyone connected* My connections My 'Friends' privacy group My 'Friends' privacy group My connections My connections My connections My connections My 'Friends' privacy group
14 Can like/dislike profiles and profile things Anyone connected* My connections My connections My connections My connections My connections My connections My connections My connections
15 Can forward to all my channel connections via @+ mentions in posts Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given My connections My 'Friends' privacy group My 'Friends' privacy group Only if permission given Only if permission given
16 Can chat with me Anyone connected* My connections My 'Friends' privacy group Only if permission given My connections My connections My connections My connections Only if permission given
17 Can source my public posts in derived channels Anyone connected* My connections Only if permission given Only if permission given My connections Only if permission given Only if permission given My connections My connections
18 Can administer my channel Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given Only if permission given
# VISIBILITY Federation Mostly Public Restricted Private Mostly Public Restricted Private Mostly Public Restricted
1 Listed in the directory Anyone Anyone Anyone No Anyone Anyone No Anyone No
2 Your online presence Anyone Anyone Anyone No one No one No one No one No one No one
# OTHER Federation Mostly Public Restricted Private Mostly Public Restricted Private Mostly Public Restricted
1 New connections automatically added in "Friends" privacy group No No Yes Yes No Yes Yes No Yes
2 New connections are approved automatically No No No No Yes No No Yes No
                     
*: means that this permission is inherited from channel role and can't be modified. Everything else can be modified
  Public, anyone can see or act
  Public, anyone connected can see or act
  Public, connections can see or act
  Partialy private, Friends group can see or act
  Private, only those permitted car view or act
 
Important:
- Changing from an opened channel role to a more restricted one doesn't change the permissions already set. 'For ex, viewing photo is for Friends privacy group in Social / Restricted. However, if a folder of picture was created before while the channel was set to Social / Federation role, then this folder and its files can be seen by anyone. But creating a new folder will get the new channel role, so for this example visible only to Friends privacy group
- Even if your posts are private by default (for example with Forum - Restricted) you can still choose to post "public"