|This is the main screen and, as you have noted, is pretty straightforward. Let’s take a closer look at it.|
After logged in, you'll find three main sections or blocks and some functions buttons:
Let's start by looking at what you can setup and customize on your cloud account.
Click on your profile picture on the top right corner and choose "Settings" (if you didn't set a picture yet, you'll see a round avatar with the first letter of your user name inside).
The settings are divided into sections. On the left-section you'll find quick links to the different options. Let's see them...
|This is the place where you can add information about yourself, which then you can choose to share with others.|
|By clicking on the "lock" icon right next to information title, you can set the privacy level you want to assign to it. By default, your profile picture, full name and email are set to be visible only to the local users and the servers you trust.|
The levels you can choose are:
|You should pay extra attention when filling up this information (which is optional) and decide how much information about yourself you want to share and reveal to others.|
Below the profile picture you can see:
Additionally, you can also change your preferred language.
|Security is the place where you can review, set (additional) and revoke security settings.|
Here you can see how many devices are currently connected to your account. If you don't recognize one connected device, it might mean your account has been compromised and you should proceed to change your password.
|Keep in mind that every browser, mobile, computer, etc., will be shown as separate devices each time you change your network, for example. So don't freak out at first. Just seriously double check everything, before you go full on paranoid mode|
When Two-Factor Authentication is enable, third party applications (like your email, notes or news clients) won't be able to login your account with your user credentials only. For these devices you can create a specific password for the app.
|What is Two-factor authentication (2FA)?||Is a security process that has a two steps verification, usually, the combination of two factors:
1) something you know (like a password),
2) something you have (could be a security token, a card, a QR code, etc.) or
3) something you are (like your fingerprint).
An example of how it works: when you go to an ATM to extract money you need to use your bank card (something you have) and a PIN (something you know). If the combination fails, you can't extract the money.
Two-factor authentication can be used if you want have a more secure login (you can read more about it here). When enabled, you will be asked not only for your login name and password, but also for an extra authentication like a one-time-password (OTP) or verification via a hardware device.
It's highly advisable to download backup codes when you have enabled two-factor. If, for some reason, your OTP app doesn't work (you lost your phone!), you still be able to login. You should keep these backup codes in a safe place (not your phone!) and each code allows you to login once. Once you are in you can reconfigure you OTP or disable two-factor.
Disroot offers two types of two-factor authentication:
TOTP (Time-based One-Time-Password): TOTP is like Google Authenticator. This is an app you can run on your phone and generates a time based password. Some open source authenticators are andOTP and FreeOTP.
You can add as many devices as you like. It is recommended to give each device a distinct name. Chrome is the only browser that supports U2F devices by default. You need to install the "U2F Support Add-on" on Firefox to use U2F.
Here you can decide whether or not an administrator will be able to recover your files in case you loose your password. This option is disabled by default as it enables admins of Disroot to decrypt and view your files.
|Enabling this option after your password was lost will not recover your files! You need to make this decision beforehand. We strongly encourage you to never loose your password in the first place and keep it stored safe.
This is the best way to keep your files and your account safe. We really don't want to have access to it.
In the Activity section you can choose how do you want to be informed about what's happening on your cloud. You can get email notifications, being notified in the Activity stream or even not being notified at all. If you choose to get email notifications, you can set the frecuency from "As soon as posible to Hourly, Daily or Weekly.
The External Storage application allows you to mount external storage services and/or devices as secondary Nextcloud storage devices.
Username and password: it requires a manually-defined username and password. These get passed directly to the backend and are specified during the setup of the mount point.
Log-in credentials, save in session: it uses your Nextcloud login credentials to connect to the storage. These are not stored anywhere on the server, but rather in the user session, giving increased security. The drawbacks are that sharing is disabled when this mechanism is in use, as Nextcloud has no access to the storage credentials, and background file scanning does not work.
Log-in credentials, save in database: as the previous method, it uses your login credentials to connect to the storage, but these are stored in the database encrypted with the shared secret. This allows to share files from within this mount point.
Here you'll find shortcuts to the mobile and desktop Nextcloud applications.
In this section you can change the default high contrast theme to the dark theme and the default cloud font to the Dyslexia font.
What is federated cloud? Just like emails that can be send between users on different servers (gmail, riseup, disroot etc) also nextcloud gives you opportunity to share files, contacts, calendars etc. with people outside of disroot that also use similar cloud solution (owncloud and / or nextcloud). This gives the freedom to the users to use platform of their choice while being able to collaborate with each other. In this section you can see your federation ID. You can share it with others by just sending a link or via predefined platforms (to which you can add your preferred ones that are not included of course).